Who is the Candy Thief? When will we find out?

Nora knows the identity of the Candy Thief, but she’s not sure when that person will be unmasked in the books.


Why can’t Summerset take care of a baby?

When Eve and Roarke are parents, Nora has no doubt that they will be very much hands-on. While Summerset would be integral to their lives running smoothly, they would not just hand over the care of a child to him full-time.

When will Eve and Roarke have a baby?

Nora has said repeatedly that a baby would signal the end of the series. In her opinion, a baby changes everything (for the better) and the focus of the series would change radically. In no way does this mean Nora thinks a mother can’t be an excellent police officer (or attorney or any other type of professional). It does mean that many of the things readers love about Eve and Roarke’s life together would change (i.e., leaving home for hours on end only to return to continue working in their home offices).

Why don’t the books say “Nora Roberts writing as J. D. Robb” anymore?

Nora writes every word of the In Death series—after all, she’s as interested in the characters’ lives as the readers are. Affter 14 books reminding readers that it was Nora Roberts writing as J. D. Robb, her publisher at Berkley decided it was time to let J. D. Robb get top billing.

Why don’t the books have the picture of Eve on them anymore?

That is actually the official J. D. Robb author photo, not a depiction of Eve.

Is the Medical Examiner Morris or Morse?

Li Morris is the NYPSD medical examiner. In a continuity error, he was referred to as Morse in Witness in Death and Judgment in Death.

In which book do we first meet Max Ricker?

Max Ricker is first introduced in Judgment in Death.

In which book is Dr. Mira in danger?

She is captured in the novella “Midnight in Death,” which was first published in an anthology titled Silent Night, and then subsequently reprinted in Three in Death.

In which book does Roarke find out the truth about his family?

Roarke learns he doesn’t know everything about his past in Portrait in Death.

In which book does Eve meet Roarke?

In the first book of the series, Naked in Death.

In which book do they get married?

Eve and Roarke get married off-stage between the third and fourth books of the series. The ceremony is about to start as Immortal in Death ends, and they are on their honeymoon when Rapture in Death opens.